Skip to content

Death of An Old Friend.

October 12, 2012

Well since we last spoke I have lost an old friend.

If you have visited here before you may be aware one of my favourite items was my windows home server, well it decided that it was due to be retired and as such gave up working and no matter how I tried I could not coax it out of retirement.

This left me the problem of replacing my home server but the problem was Microsoft had thoroughly cocked up the new version by removing the most important feature (Drive Extender) that made it worth it’s weight in gold then they announced that they were retiring the product.

Nice way to look after their customers don’t you think.

As such there would be no point in purchasing a new windows Home server.   So this presents the issue do I build my own machine or look for alternatives, The problem being building my own would have cost too much and would have been too expensive to run 24 hours a day due to power consumption so it was an alternative that I needed.

I found myself looking for a solution and this came in the form of a NAS (Network Attached Storage) and I settled on a Qnap TS-412 which was on reflection very good value for money. The box takes up to four internal drives up to three terabyte each on the latest firmware and had three USB ports on the rear and one on the front. It also has two eSata ports but these are for single drives only, There is also two gigabit Ethernet ports, so in general it offers a great deal of flexibility.   The software also makes a big difference as there is not match that it can’t do and you can add additional software on demand however although I am very happy with it he NAS it’s still now windows if you follow me

So the new box is tucked away in a cubard with several terabytes of storage an contains our Music and Films and Photographs that can be displayed on any TV or PC ect and was worth every penny all my films an TV in one place no searching and messing about with disc’s and no way for the to be damaged.

Goodbye old friend.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Gadgets Extremes

We know more about Technical Gadgets.

Fantastic Television

Random thoughts of a genre tv addict

Writer Henna Sky

Harbouring evil sorcerers, frustrated squirrels, mythical beasts, grumpy Kings and welcome any warped, wayward and I'm a sucker for whimsical creatures, into my World. Is it you?

I Want Ice Water!

And Other Pleas From The Bowels Of Hell On Earth

USS Soapbox!

Captain Jim Furie - my journey through the expanse called life.

Bill McCurry

Fantasy Fiction That Bleeds Laughter

引越し手続きのチェックポイント│今すぐ引越し準備を始めよう!

Captain Jim Furie - my journey through the expanse called life.

nyrhalahotep

A Geek friendly blog

Randy's Film Commentary and Reviews

Film reviews and commentary for those who love the movies.

portable movies

For the love of Movies, TV and music

Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff. Reading books. Blogging words.

fiftyshedsofgraham

a man, a shed, and way too much spare time

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

The Friggin Loon

Fodder To Harden Your Arteries By

Blog Redirection

Gone to self hosted...

Believe in Yourself

Believe in Yourself

~Timshel~

Thou Mayest

The Cords that Bind

A site about all things bound up within me.

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

