Skip to content

Customer Service?

October 25, 2009

microsoft_security_essentials_logothumb230x1308635f_thumb1I have previously posted regarding Microsoft Security Essentials.

I was on their technical support site the other day and I was going through the postings in the community help section as I can not understand why Windows Home Server has been excluded from Security Essentials.

I  tried to establish why the Microsoft Security Essentials is not able to run on the Windows Home Server and to be honest every reason I read did not stand up to investigation.

Remember two key points

  1. Windows Home Server is a domestic product based on a enterprise quality product but is intended for the home as the name suggests.
  2. Microsoft Security Essentials is based and used the same core technology and definition updates as Microsoft Forefront.

I sent a message to Microsoft asking why this was the case and this was the response

Thank you for contacting us about Microsoft? Security Essentials

I?m sorry to say Microsoft Security Essentials would not run on Windows? Home Server. This is because Security Essentials is for desktop Operating Systems only. It is not meant for servers. Please see the system requirements at the following link for confirmation:

 

 

Do they even read the messages that we send and do they actually take the time to investigate the answers?

I must admit I am very disappointed in the response as I believe it shows no interest in my question and the response is almost as poor as no response at all and reflects badly on their customer service.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 1:16 pm

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Trackbacks

  1. Valuable Internet Information » Customer Service? « USS Soapbox!

Leave a Reply

Gadgets Extremes

We know more about Technical Gadgets.

Fantastic Television

Random thoughts of a genre tv addict

Writer Henna Sky

Harbouring evil sorcerers, frustrated squirrels, mythical beasts, grumpy Kings and welcome any warped, wayward and I'm a sucker for whimsical creatures, into my World. Is it you?

I Want Ice Water!

And Other Pleas From The Bowels Of Hell On Earth

USS Soapbox!

Captain Jim Furie - my journey through the expanse called life.

Bill McCurry

Fantasy Fiction That Bleeds Laughter

THEMOVIEBROS.COM

Captain Jim Furie - my journey through the expanse called life.

nyrhalahotep

A Geek friendly blog

Randy's Film Commentary and Reviews

Film reviews and commentary for those who love the movies.

portable movies

For the love of Movies, TV and music

Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff. Reading books. Blogging words.

fiftyshedsofgraham

a man, a shed, and way too much spare time

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

The Friggin Loon

Fodder To Harden Your Arteries By

Blog Redirection

Gone to self hosted...

Believe in Yourself

Believe in Yourself

~Timshel~

Thou Mayest

The Cords that Bind

A site about all things bound up within me.

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

