Skip to content

Eh.. Social Networking.. You What?

October 4, 2009

Social

I have only just joined the blogging community and up until say June this year had never looked at it and did not see the attraction.

It’s October now and I am hooked. I check my blog 2, 3, 4 times a day and I find myself thinking regularly about topics for posting.

I understand the structure and reasoning to blogging i.e. you are publishing a thought a or a comment on a subject that you wish to make a statement on, much the same as you might have done a letter to the editor of a newspaper but now technology offers a new way of doing so.

One of the rewarding things I have found is when a visitor is kind enough to leave a comment either positive or negative (as long as its constructive,but not abusive) or a different point if view, This I see not as a conversation but more of a review or a comment on your thoughts.

However with social networking sites, I am at somewhat of a loss. I don’t understand the benefits for example they (this is from my prospective remember) try to turn what could be essentially be considered a blog into a conversation that is not done real time. There are better tools for this for example ICQ, Messenger, they do this extremely well. Flicker and the likes do a very good job of hosting photographs and YouTube does video very well.

I have accounts with face book and BeBo, but I have not worked out how they will benefit me or even use them.

I also do not get Twitter! I cannot see why anyone would like to know what you are doing one minute to the other for example a possible Tweet:

  • Going to toilet.
  • Not very keen on sweet corn anymore.
  • Used 5 sheets need to get more.
  • Leaving toilet.

    Ok in know i am mocking in the above example (intended in, well almost good taste), but I sure you get what I am trying to illustrate.

I hope the reason for my confusion is not that I am getting old. I do consider myself to be reasonably knowledgeable and literate on the subject of technology.

I would value any comments you have.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2009 2:36 pm

    You can also develop relationships and introduce people to what you have to offer. WordPress Blog Hosting

Trackbacks

  1. BM Boo Boo! « USS Soapbox!

Leave a Reply

Gadgets Extremes

We know more about Technical Gadgets.

Fantastic Television

Random thoughts of a genre tv addict

Writer Henna Sky

Harbouring evil sorcerers, frustrated squirrels, mythical beasts, grumpy Kings and welcome any warped, wayward and I'm a sucker for whimsical creatures, into my World. Is it you?

I Want Ice Water!

And Other Pleas From The Bowels Of Hell On Earth

USS Soapbox!

Captain Jim Furie - my journey through the expanse called life.

Bill McCurry

Fantasy Fiction That Bleeds Laughter

引越し手続きのチェックポイント│今すぐ引越し準備を始めよう!

Captain Jim Furie - my journey through the expanse called life.

nyrhalahotep

A Geek friendly blog

Randy's Film Commentary and Reviews

Film reviews and commentary for those who love the movies.

portable movies

For the love of Movies, TV and music

Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff. Reading books. Blogging words.

fiftyshedsofgraham

a man, a shed, and way too much spare time

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

The Friggin Loon

Fodder To Harden Your Arteries By

Blog Redirection

Gone to self hosted...

Believe in Yourself

Believe in Yourself

~Timshel~

Thou Mayest

The Cords that Bind

A site about all things bound up within me.

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

