Skip to content

Milking the cow dry.

September 19, 2009

I love music, every day I have it playing on one device or another be it my PC or Hi-Fi or my MP3 player or in the car, it’s my version of a drug habit seriously it’s that important and would spend my last penny on music (as my better half will confirm, sometimes to her displeasure) and has been the case for the last 38 years.

What’scash-cow your point? I hear you mumble

I’m almost forty now and while I am still passionate about music I am no longer stupid took 30 years but hey. The music industry has made it harder and harder for you to enjoy music by putting up more barriers at every point of access.

As far as I my opinion goes they have milked the cash cow dry and everybody is beginning to notice and they don’t like it one bit.

I used to be quite happy to spend £20 or more on a CD but over time the range got narrower and if you spilled out of the top forty man do you pay a premium, no longer, I will do without unless it’s something I really want there is no more buying albums because you like one track or want to try something new.

So I have the music I have paid for on CD (See my other posts) and yet I am expected to pay once again just to use the music in another format, while it is common practice to rip your CD’s to your MP3 player and almost every media player gives you the tools to do so, you are almost certainly turning your self in to a criminal and I dare say the music industry would advocate hanging for such a heinous crime.

Digital Rights Management ( Translation:- you buy this product and we guarantee it wont work on the majority of your devices and in six months time wont be worth the disk space). I can understand why the companies need to protect their investments but DRM is a technology while in concept may be appealing it does not work and is more and more getting backlash from the consumer who is no longer prepared to tolerate this abuse of power.

I decided that I would never again buy a DRM crippled product as they say once bitten twice shy.

I do believe if you have toiled and laboured you should be compensated at a reasonable amount but the problem is the industry wants’ is to draw 40 gallons from the cow capable of delivering 40 pints. they want paid again, again, again…

Today I see in the new that the industry wants paid, wait for it… you know when you get a 30 second preview so you can check you have the right song or if you like the song well they want paid for that as well you’ve got to laugh (or cry).

Imagine if you had a heart attack and you went to hospital the NHS will fix you for free elsewhere you may be charged a one off fee but what if the surgeon was able to charge you a penny for every heart beat from then on would that work?.

The thing is I love music but it’s becoming more difficult to get the music I want in a format that is usable and convenient and is value for money.

Just as a closing though the film industry is not much different.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Gadgets Extremes

We know more about Technical Gadgets.

Fantastic Television

Random thoughts of a genre tv addict

Writer Henna Sky

Harbouring evil sorcerers, frustrated squirrels, mythical beasts, grumpy Kings and welcome any warped, wayward and I'm a sucker for whimsical creatures, into my World. Is it you?

I Want Ice Water!

And Other Pleas From The Bowels Of Hell On Earth

USS Soapbox!

Captain Jim Furie - my journey through the expanse called life.

Bill McCurry

Fantasy Fiction That Bleeds Laughter

引越し手続きのチェックポイント│今すぐ引越し準備を始めよう!

Captain Jim Furie - my journey through the expanse called life.

nyrhalahotep

A Geek friendly blog

Randy's Film Commentary and Reviews

Film reviews and commentary for those who love the movies.

portable movies

For the love of Movies, TV and music

Geeky Book Snob

Learning stuff. Reading books. Blogging words.

fiftyshedsofgraham

a man, a shed, and way too much spare time

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

The Friggin Loon

Fodder To Harden Your Arteries By

Blog Redirection

Gone to self hosted...

Believe in Yourself

Believe in Yourself

~Timshel~

Thou Mayest

The Cords that Bind

A site about all things bound up within me.

Mostly Bright Ideas

Some of these thoughts may make sense. But don't count on it.

